Halloween costume disaster, kittens trick or treat, and why fall is my favorite season

The Geek had this brilliant plan to dress up Kidlet as the Bride of Frankenstein for Halloween since she has a stuffed baby Frankenstein Monster.  I thought it was an excellent idea and attempted to make the costume myself, I figured how hard could it be?  I’ll buy a flat white sheet, a sheer white curtain, put a hole in the middle of each and then hem it and we’re good to go.

Yeah…no.  Not so much.  I bought a twin flat sheet because I couldn’t find one that was crib sized, Kidlet is 3 years old so the twin was huge.  I tried to hem the sheet.  Didn’t have white thread so went with black to give it a creepy feel.  Unfortunately I wasn’t able to sew in a straight line, I measured very badly, and then cut the hole for the neck too big.  I tried to fix the neck, screwed it up three times and jammed the sewing machine four times.

Kidlet went as Rapunzel for Halloween and she loved it.

We had trick or treaters this year since we moved to the townhouse we’re renting.  Our last trick or treaters of the night were a couple in the twenties who had their kitten with them, they were dressed as squirrels from a TV show that I know nothing about and their kitten had butterfly wings.  Kidlet loved it, she got to pet the kitten, hand out candy, and talk to the couple about their costumes.  It completely made her night.  The kitten was cute and I got to rid of candy.  A win-win for all.

Halloween means Fall and Fall is favorite season, it’s chilly and the leaves turn colors and in Portland it means rain.  Living in New Mexico Fall meant that Starbucks would sell Pumpkin Spice Lattes and the weather would finally start to cool off and it wouldn’t be so damn hot.  The Geek and I have wanted to move to Portland Oregon for a few years now and last year we finally did it.  Fall in Portland is completely different than Fall in NM.  We have trees here that actually turn colors and then fall off the trees.  That’s not to say that all of NM is a desert, it’s not, but I lived in the desert for 10 years and I lived in NM until I moved to Oregon.  I love chilly days and nights, I love the rain here (yes, I realize that because I’m not a native that the rain is awesome to me and to people who have lived here for a while the rain is not), and I love that the coffee shops put out the Fall flavors.  Everything about Fall makes me happy.  Including Thanksgiving, because pumpkin pie.

About redneckmeetsgeek

I'm a Redneck Girl who met a Geek Boy, we married, we had a kidlet, we moved away from friends and family and everything we ever knew to the PNW, then we had another kidlet, and lived happily ever after.....most days, also I'm convinced that Martha Stewart secretly hates me
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

